Single Teens

“So flee youthful passions and pursue righteousness, faith, love, and peace, along with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart.” -2 Timothy 2:22
It’s difficult being single in this society, even if we are only teenagers. One, it is hard finding someone that may fit your “requirements”. Me personally, I want someone with a relationship with Christ and who lives their life for Him. Besides that (and that’s hard enough finding), I have an old romantic soul. I love love letters, and random long messages, and stuff you find in books and movies. That seems to be super hard to find in this day and age.
I realize that I may not find someone with all the characteristics that I would like, but that is still no reason to settle. Just because a boyfriend would be nice, if I don’t want to marry that guy, why bother? If they don’t live their life for Christ and are examples of His love, why bother hurting myself by dating someone of this world? If they don’t want to treat me like they like me as much as they say they do, why bother falling into that game?
Teens nowadays just don’t want to be lonely. They don’t want actual commitment, they don’t want to wait for God’s timing, and they don’t want to lose their selfishness. Every relationship you have, it should have the intention of marriage, or else it just has the intention of heartache. I want all of my friends to be happy, and I want them to be loved, but no one should find their happiness in a guy or gal, and no one should feel like they are loved solely because they are in a relationship.
We want so much as teenagers, and sometimes joy is the one thing we lack. Everyone seems to be so depressed due to school and stress and heartache. They find fleeting things to base their joy on. “They make me smile every once in awhile, but their actions cause me to cry a lot. But they still make me happy.” This is too often what goes through our minds. That is not joy. That is a smile that comes around and then gets taken away. Joy is having friendships that help and encourage. Joy comes from doing things you love. Joy comes from following God’s perfect plan. Joy does not come from a relationship where God is not the center of it all.
I was in a relationship where God was not there, and it caused me to hate myself, and fear so many things, and it separated me from an unfailing love. I am single now, and I have not been happier. I have happiness because I’m living my life for Christ, and I have real friendships, and I am not searching for another guy. I am waiting instead; waiting for the perfect guy- the guy God wants me to be with. What God wants, is what I want.
“What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate” -Mark 10:9

Leave a comment